Laois Education Centre last week celebrated the publication of books designed, written and produced by over six hundred primary school pupils from counties Laois, Offaly and North Tipperary. Hundreds of young authors converged on the Montague Hotel Portlaoise for an Awards Ceremony, where certificates and prizes were handed out by Don Conroy, artist, author and television personality.


Don Conroy commended all the pupils for their creativity and imagination, and congratulated teachers and parents for supporting the authors of the future with enthusiasm and commitment.


The evening was also attended by Mary Yarr from the Southern Education and Library Board in Northern Ireland. Laois Education Centre and the SELB are linked through a creative writing project in which eight schools are twinned on each side of the border. This project has also recently been celebrated with an exhibition of the pupils’ work and a teacher conference in Newry.


Write-a-Book Project Merit Award Winners


Mercy Convent Borris-in-Ossory:            Aisling Daly, Noreen Dooley

Presentation Convent Portarlington:            Katie Dunne

St Colmcille’s BNS Templemore:            Martin Quinlan, Jonathan Lawlor, Johnny McInerney

Geashill NS:                                         Lisa Leogue, Nicolle Murphy

Scoil Mhuire Portlaoise:            Sandra Bergin, Grainne Bennett

Ballinakill NS:                                       Sinead O’Callaghan

St Brendan’s NS Birr:            Liam Pardy, Dillon Handsbury, Dean Nagle

Scoil Bhride Tullamore:            Ethan Brophy Byrne

Maryborough NS Portlaoise:            Jennifer Clegg

Shanahoe NS:                                      Sarah Beth Delaney, Brian Fairbrother

Castlecuffe NS:            Niamh Conroy, Blaithin Tynan, Brian Sheerin, Sarah Conroy, Martin Comerford

St Kieran’s NS, Broughall:            Brian Dunne, Cathal Fox

Camross NS:                                        Billy Lally, Craig Delaney, Wayne McCartney, Aine Bennett, Dawn Mortimer

St Joseph’s GNS Mountmellick:            Natasha Kelly Buckley, Ciara Grannell

Clonaghadoo NS:            5th and 6th Class

Scoil Naomh Eoin Rath:            Rachel Dermody, Ellen Kinsella, Michael Troy, Sarah Stephens, Emily O’Brien, Kieran Grennan, Jennifer Kennedy

Ballyadams NS:            Niamh Delaney, Louise Fenelon, Lorna Butler, Aisling Crosby, Oisin Dunne, John Hayden, Zoe Barrett

Shinrone NS:                                        Conor Cleary



Return to Laois Education Centre Homepage