Write a Book Awards Night 3rd may 2007


One thousand pupils, teachers, parents and parents converged on the Montague Hotel in Portlaoise to celebrate the publication of 1,200 books by pupils from Schools in the Midlands in the Write a Book project. This project is organised by Laois Education Centre in partnership with Laois Enterprise Board.

Guest of Honour, Don Conroy of RTE's The Den complimented Laois Education Centre on the very efficient organisation of the project. He said that the 50% increase in books from last year was a great compliment to all the teachers, pupils and parents involved. Don who has supported the project for the last 8 years said that it was not just the number of books published that was significant, it was the quality of the work of all involved. Don entertained all present with dramatic stories and beautiful drawings. Many people went home with Don's drawings on books, envelopes and any paper available.

Tony Mahon, Director of Laois Education Centre said The Write a Book project is one of the most exciting, interesting and finest projects for pupils organised by Laois Education Centre. Tony said the quality and variety of books is outstanding and the are beautifully and artistically illustrated with books on Poetry, Travel, Sport, Novels, Animals and some books as Gaeilge. All human life was in the books. Tony thanked the teachers who initiated the project, supported their pupils, read other class books and helped with recommending merit awards. He also thanked the pupils and their family members, the co-ordinators of the project, Rosemary, Bridie and Yvonne and Don Conroy for his support of the project over the years.

Merit awards were presented by Don on the evening and each participating pupil received a certificate of participation.

On next Thursday 10th May Don will present awards in Birr to the schools from Offaly and Tipperary who participated in the Write a Book project.

Merit Winners 2007

         School Name  Teachers name           Name of Pupil Title Of Book
Ardough NS Pauline Lalor Emily Treacy Time Flies
Ardough NS Margaret Brophy John Meaney Tom Crean
Ballinakill NS Michael Martin Sinead Jones/Orlaith McGuire Girlz Fashionz
Ballyfin NS Emer Doyle Ella Barrett Toy's Don't Talk
Borris in Ossary PS Kathryn Bergin Aine Sheeran Easy Recipes
    Celine Dooley My Book About Animals
Borris in Ossary PS Orla O Connor Aoife Finlay The Blueberry Pie
    Jennifer Smith O' Brien/Amy Doherty About Dogs
Borris in Ossary PS Margaret Tierney Jamie Byrne Sal and the Dragon!
    William Abbot Sharks
Camross NS Mary McCarthy Dylan Kilmartin An Amazing Invention
Camross NS Talitha Horan Eilis Conroy The Good Fairy
    Mary Ryan The Dog in my Neighbours Field
Camross NS Betty Cordial Sarah Drennan My Book of Princesses
    Shane Dowling A Book About Rally Cars
Camross NS Rita Keenan Junior & Senior Infants The Lost Kitten
Castlecuffe NS Maureen Butterfield Jack Malone Grandpa
    Niamh Conroy The Ghost of Castlecuffe
Castlecuffe NS Grace Digan Junior Infants Fairy Tale Castle
Castlecuffe NS Bridie Dunne Niamh Goode  Skull Island
    Brian Sheerin A Summer in Montserrat
Castletown NS Monica Phelan James Mullaney Exciting Time in Glasgow
Cloneygowan NS Brid Walsh Kim Carragher Spirit's Adventure
    Natasha Kirwan My Book About Irish Dancing
Cloneygowan NS Triona Wallace Sophie Carragher Chi-Chi and the Puppies
    Amie O Hanlon Egypt Storybook
Cloneygowan NS Maureen Fox Emma Cummins Follow Your Dreams
    Sean Kemp All About Charles
Gaelscoil an tSlí Dala Nuala de Bruin Jake Delaney Lightning
Gaelscoil Phortlaoise Dominic O Braonan Kellaí Nic Aodha Conas a Bheith MarGarda
    Timmy San Iarthar Fiáin Fionn O Caomhánach
    Jordan Ní Nuallain Bóithrín
Geashill Ns Mary Finlay Lorraine Byrne The Haunted Clock
    Rebecca Travers Penguins
Mountmellick BNS Deirdre Challoner Samuel J Sebastian Giant Jim & The Hurricane
Mountmellick GNS Pauline Phelan Katie Donoher Passion for Fassion
Newtown NS Niamh Campion Siobhan Dash Lost in the Wood
    James Kelly The Stable Boy
Newtown NS Michelle Gleeson Ronan O' Brien My Dog and I
    Celine O' Reilly My Family Tree
Newtown NS Alexandra Dewberry Rhona Kelly My Number Book
    Ryan Shanahan My Family Tree Book
Paddock NS Alison Phelan  Laura Magee My Life & Dreams
Presentation PS Portarlington Muriel Duice Brid Murphy Anna's Diary
    Shauna Keenan Doggie Café
Rath NS Joe Hickey Grace McClintock Amy's Lost Pet
Rath NS Grainne O Shea Raymond McClintock Space Adventure
Rath NS Sinead Mcardle Stephen Ahern The Wizard, The Kids & The Professor
    Jack Holmes Lost in Death
Rosenallis NS Colette Haverty Roisin Dunne The Spooky House
    Dylan Mooney My Pet
Scoil Bhride NS Croghan Gerry Hickey 5th & 6th Class La le Padraig
    Stephen Moore The Best Weekend Ever
Scoil Mhuire Portlaosie Thelma Redmond Kellie Preston The Wizz Kids
Scoil Mhuire Portlaosie Ann Bergin Claire O' Brien Green Fingers
    Waad Alawad/Niamh Healy/Sophie Jackson/Chantel Kelly/Ericka McCarthy/Aoife McEvoy Dancer Wants to be a DJ
Scoil Mhuire Portlaosie Helen Mulligan Niamh Tarleton The Tundra Wolf
Scoil Mhuire Portlaosie Margaret Dooley Aine Carroll A Struggle for Life
    Lauren Roe The Corrupted Wishes
    Shannon Moran Silly Milly
Scoil Mhuire Portlaosie Ann Marie Whelan Claire Kennedy Fun for a Rainy Day
    Jenny Coss My Stories
Shanahoe NS Mirium Brickley Senior Infants Our Favourite Animals
    Junior Infants Daisy Cow
St Patrick's BNS Portarlington Neasa Garry Aaron Hyland DJ Shadow
    Jim Cash My Book of Colours
Stradbally BNS Padraig Ashe Mark Wright/Stephen O' Toole Stick Man
    Gavin O' Keeffe/Peter Dunne Footballs Oldest Book of Croke Park
Stradbally BNS Roisin Brennan Conor Hanley/Eoin McGannon The Plane Crash
Stradbally BNS Phil Ryan Eoin Buggy/Noel Delaney The Surprise
Stradbally BNS Sharon Kelly Patrick Shaughnessy/Cormac Keogh/ David Delaney The Birthday Trip
The Heath NS David O' Brien Laura Whelan Felicity the Fairy
    Robert Dowling A Dog's Tale
Timahoe NS Enda Hickey Kevin Carroll World War 2
    Dillon Lalor Canine Care
Timahoe NS Aoife Booth Rebecca Lynch Sweet House
    Thomas Foyle Crazy Computer
Wolfhill NS Marie O' Connor Ellen McCarthy Brian's Loose Tooth
    Eoin Moore Wolf Attack
Wolfhill NS Kathleen Boland Shane Knowles A Blue Blue Sea